Last Weekend Part 2: Balloons and Bad Food!

I feel so sick after eating like poo last weekend…but I regret nothing.

giphy.gif


Lake George hosts a hot air balloon festival annually, this year was the 45th event. Although I live less than an hour away I have never attended so when I heard about the festival I asked Zac if he’d like to go. We decided to make it a date.

Saturday morning I woke up, fed the horses and we rolled out for the day.  It was unusually warm for mid-September in upstate New York.  We picked up some delicious apple cider doughnuts from Fo’Castle Farm and brought them to a horse show (Read about the show on my other blog TheGreenHorseman.com).  The group of girls that I ride with were competing in the final show of the season and I wanted to stop in and cheer for them.  Zac, the ever-so-patient boyfriend went along with me.  While we were there we dined at the famous Farmer’s Feed Bunk.  This truck serves eggrolls like I’ve never seen before.  I ordered myself a Thanksgiving Eggroll (with turkey and stuffing inside).

After enjoying our food and cheering on the team we made our way to Glens Falls for the hot air balloons.  We got there just in time and snagged a great parking spot. Just as we were finished walking through all the vendor booths the flights began to get under way. It was so exciting to see the first balloon inflate and take flight.  Before we knew it the sky was flooded with balloons all around us.  The way they hovered in the air silently was spectacular; just floating ornaments adorning the bright blue sky.

We were having a great time.  We saw couples, groups, families, older people, young people, even teenagers.  People that were clearly well off and people who were making ends meet.  Men, women, and children of all ethnicities and walks of life.  It was a hot day and there were hundreds of people; most booths were packed.  Yet all I saw were smiles.  I saw families dancing with their toddlers.  I heard the band playing, laughter…”pleases” and “thank yous” and even “excuse me.” Everyone seemed to get along and it makes you wonder how the rest of the world can be so hateful.

The food vendors ran out of water by 4 or 5pm so we had to settle for soda.  We also picked up some fresh kettlecorn and proceeded to take a walk around the grounds enjoying what the festival had to offer.  You could take a hot air balloon ride for $15, get your face painted, buy some art, quilts, alpaca clothing, jewelry, baked goods, jerky, and other crafts.

At around 8:00PM nearly 30 balloons lit up the night in what is called “Moonglow.” There was no flight at this time; the hot air balloons stayed grounded but used their flame to illuminate their designs.  The band played and the balloons shined bright.  It was a perfect ending to a wonderful day.



For more information on the Adirondack Hot Air Balloon Festival visit: AdirondackBalloonFest.org

To visit my new blog and read part 1 of my weekend visit: TheGreenHorseman.com

One thought on “Last Weekend Part 2: Balloons and Bad Food!

  1. Pingback: Last Weekend’s Festivities Part 1: Horse Show – The Green Horseman

Leave a Reply

