Keeping a Journal….Dear Diary….

Seriously though….I’m beginning a journey to reclaim my health.  Only 3 years ago I was in the best shape of my life and now I’m at my worst.  I began a support group on Facebook and as we prepare for our diet changes I’ve begun us all on a journal challenge.  While some choose to keep private journals I am using this blog as one of my avenues.
Keeping a journal is an important and under-rated tool in achieving goals.  It helps us practice mindfulness and keep ourselves in check in addition to whatever support systems you might (or might not) already have.  Sometimes it can mean the difference between success and failure.

Whenever you have a craving or are struggling emotionally write about it.  Reach for pen and paper BEFORE you reach for food.  Write about how you’re feeling about your situation and what you’re doing about it.  You may find that it’s surprisingly effective.

So…JOIN ME.  Use my prompts for your own journal and write away!

bub39zd255f3da11a1127750063973.gif

My first journal prompt to our group today was:

Write about 3 things YOU DO that keeps you from my your health goals

My response:
  1. I spread myself too thin, adding stress and taking away from my sleep.  I am always worried about helping others, getting a workout in, cleaning the house, working my horse, and so many other things.  I have become used to 5 hours of sleep and it is not healthy.  My health has suffered as a result of this.
  2. I use food as a crutch all too often.  I eat when I’m happy, bored, depressed, anxious, stressed.  It has become a viscous cycle that I have had a hard time ripping myself away from.  It has gotten to the point where my body autopilots to food and when I realize what I’m doing it’s too late.
  3. I choose and crave food that is low quality and high in sugar.  It has become an addiction that is difficult to overcome.  

I do all of these things daily knowing that it sabotages my goals.  I have allowed my willpower to wither and I’ve lost sight of the real prize (health).  That brings me to why I’m making these changes.

 

About sscribner07

I am outgoing, motivated, quirky and energetic. Fitness and nutrition is a passion yet I have a serious sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Inspiration, Motivation, Nutrition, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

