More Breakfast!

Did I mention that I LOVE breakfast foods?

So maybe I did.  Then it shouldn’t be a surprise that I have another delicious meal to share.

As with most people life gets busy.  We are all finding it more and more difficult to make time to cook, especially in the morning for breakfast.  At the same time we all know the importance of getting a breakfast in.

Break your fast within the hour you wake up

Breaking our fast kick starts our metabolism for the day.  Don’t forget to down a glass of water or two as well!

The trick is…how do I get a quick and healthy breakfast when I’m already strung out with the day to come?

You can buy breakfast sandwiches at a store or frozen ones to microwave; but do you really know what’s in them?  How much sodium?  Preservatives?  I’m not a fan of being out of control in those situations so I made my own solution.

I went to Bed Bath and Beyond to find the right tools.  Unfortunately they didn’t carry any whoopee pie tins in store so I picked up a box of 8 Corning-ware dishes that would do the trick.  Muffin tins are just a bit too small in diameter for what I’m going for.

This recipe is also very versatile.  Every  batch can be something different.  Since there are 8 cups all you need is 8 eggs plus your fixins.  These can include:

  • Ham
  • Bacon (or Turkey Bacon)
  • Sausage
  • Steak
  • Shredded Cheese
  • spinach
  • tomato
  • onions
  • parsley
  • peppers

After you bake these little guys cool completely and freeze in individual snack bags (or separate in parchment paper).  When you’re ready for breakfast take one out of the freezer and microwave 45s, flip it over for another 30s.  I toast up an English muffin and enjoy my breakfast on the go!  No bread in your diet?  How about eating this as-is or even with a portabella “bun”?

Comment with your thoughts and how you enjoy yours!

20161106_111001

Ham and Cheddar

20161113_143737

Spinach and Sausage

Leave a Reply

