Cauliflower Chowder

Chowderfest…..

Cauliflower Pizza….

Cauliflower Chowder!

I made this recipe a long time ago but it seems timely to share with you now that I’m on a roll.  I love New England clam chowder but I hesitate to enjoy it because a good chowder is super thick and has a ton of calories and fat.  I’m from New England so I have picky taste.  I don’t like bacon in my clam chowder, I don’t like a chowder with too few clams, and I want my chowder so thick the spoon will stand up in it.

I am on a mission to find a healthier recipe so I can still enjoy my chowder.  This is a good start.

You’ll need:

  • 3 small heads cauliflower
  • 1.5 cup light cream
  • 6 cans clams
  • 4 medium carrots
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 leeks

The quantities are really up to you, but this is what I used in my first attempt.

I first broke up the cauliflower into smaller pieces and roasted it with some sea salt at 400 degrees until it was toasted looking.  My ninja made quick work making a puree from the cooked cauliflower.  In a lot pot combine the bay leaf, cauliflower and light cream. Grate the carrots and chop the leek and onion.  When it all seems to be heated through go ahead and add the clams.  I used the clam juice for more flavor.

The final product with thick and chunky but I was unhappy with the overpowering taste of leek. I only added it because we got it from a CSA (community supported agriculture).  I was also disappointed with myself because I forgot to buy potatoes.  It would have been better with some spud.

I will certainly be trying this again soon omitting the leek, adding potatoes, and maybe even more clams.  I’m on the right track though!

20160801_144308

Each bowl of this specific recipe contains:

  • Calories: 207
  • Carbs: 19g
  • Fat: 12g
  • Fiber: 3g
  • Protein: 8g
Leave a Reply

