Chicken Bacon Ranch-not-a-Cheatzza

Oh my have I discovered an amazing way to stick to my program!

As you know Facebook likes to target us with the types of ads it shows in our feed.  I tend to get a ton of horse, fitness, and foodie ads; go figure.  An article popped up one day by Pop-Sugar Fitness (A website very guilty of those annoying ads I see all the time).  This time it actually caught my eye.  The title was called “Here’s that Cauliflower Pizza Crust Everyone Keeps Talking About.” I saved it and finally tried it out.  The consensus?

AMAZING!

I don’t usually make recipes exactly as they tell me to.  If you looked at the link to the original recipe you’ll see they made a margherita pizza.  It looks delicious (otherwise I wouldn’t have wanted to try it in the first place) but I wanted something different.  I had recently purchased bacon (both turkey and real) as well as some chicken breast.  Chicken bacon ranch is a common favorite pizza.

To make this you’ll need:

  • Medium cauliflower head
  • 2 Eggs
  • Parmesan Cheese (2T grated)
  • Mozzarella Cheese, part skim (1 cup-1.5 cup)
  • 4 Slices of Bacon (I used the real stuff this time, low sodium)
  • Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast:  I marinated mine with minced onion and garlic then cut it up and cooked it in a pan
  • Ranch Dressing (I used Hidden Valley light)

I used my Ninja to process the cauliflower but you can also grate it.  Once you have homogeneous crumbles microwave it for 7-8 minutes.  Next add the eggs, parmesan, and mozzarella cheese (Save some  for the topping but use 3/4-1 cup in the crust).

Line a sheet (13″x 9″) with parchment paper and press your crust into it.  Mine didn’t go all the way into the corners but it turned out great anyway.  Bake the crust for 10-15 minutes at 475 degrees.  When it’s ready the crust will have a golden color and show some toasting.cbrCauliflower1.jpg

When that’s finished you’re ready for toppings!  I spread the chicken and bacon on first and topped it off with some cheese and ranch.  I tried to get fancy with the dressing but I didn’t used the right tools; don’t hate!  Finish your pizza in the oven (not much longer, about 5-8 minutes until cheese is toasty) and enjoy!

I ended up eating half of the thing.  Had it been a real pizza I would have completely ruined the diet…would have been 1500 calories or more with tons of carbs.  Instead here’s what the half looks like:

  • Calories: 670
  • Carbs: 28g
  • Protein: 76g
  • Fat: 33g
  • Fiber: 11g
  • Sugar:12g

This serving size is FILLING.  I felt as full as I would if I had eaten a personal pizza.  You better believe I will be making this again…new varieties to come!

20170206_212351

Leave a Reply

