Mentors

Heroes, idols, role models, mentors.  It is natural for each one of us to look up to somebody.  We see a person and we strive to situate our lives in a similar way.  You may not know it but you could be someone’s hero/idol/mentor.

There are many reasons why we focus on certain individuals.  We see a successful person and we also want success…it’s only common sense to learn from the successful person.  We see someone that is popular or that is wise and we wish to absorb some of their brilliance.

I have my mentors; I say this plural because I have many.  I don’t wish to be identical to any one of them but I do admire specific qualities of each.  One of the most important lessons that I’ve learned from my mentors is that we are all human and have our flaws.  The closer I get to knowing my mentors the more flaws I see.  The realization is humbling; it brings a person back to Earth if you’ve had them on a pedestal.  The most important thing to remember is not to hold their faults against them; you wouldn’t want someone to hold yours against you.

As I step further into my passion and future career in fitness and nutrition I find new mentors to guide and enhance my skill set.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mentor Me.”

About sscribner07

I am outgoing, motivated, quirky and energetic. Fitness and nutrition is a passion yet I have a serious sweet tooth.
Quote | This entry was posted in Health, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

