Live and Enjoy the Ride

Every day we watch the clock.  We can’t wait for the day to pass, can’t wait for the weekend, can’t wait for next month, summer, winter, next year, graduation, etc.  Do you find yourself rushing to work or rushing home?  Always in a rush?

We only get a short period of time to live our lives.  If you were to quantify the amount of time you spend in a rush would you be surprised?

These days, especially if you live in the northeastern United States, people get furious waiting and rushing around.  People get impatient and want to speed up time to get to another future event.  But what happens when that future doesn’t meet your expectations?  You’ve just wasted your history, hundreds and thousands of heartbeats waiting and rushing around…don’t you wish you had enjoyed that time?  When you’re stuck in traffic, turn up the music and sing.

I am overweight and have gained 25 pounds this winter in a short period of time.  I am miserable about it, yes, but I keep reminding myself to enjoy the ride.  I’d love to rush to getting thin again but if I don’t enjoy it what is that time worth?  I enjoy every minute I go to the gym, every minute of krav maga I take.

Think about the time you spend rushing around, getting upset, or anxiously waiting for the time to pass.  Learn how to make that experience go from a negative to a positive.  The more time you spend being happy and enjoying it the less time you spend releasing stress hormones that cause weight gain.

TRY IT and tell me how you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

