Pure Organic Bars

20150225_152059While I was driving home from my weekly business trip one week I stopped into a rest area.  Unfortunately I was hungry and hadn’t packed anything with me.  To my dismay my typical go-to was not offered at this location.  I typically look for Core Protein Pro Series or Eggs Asap!.  As I picked up a bottle of water and a few other items my eyes came across these bars at the register.  I picked a couple up (Banana Coconut and Chocolate Brownie).  Unfortunately I haven’t gotten around to eating them until now.  These bars contain nuts like almonds and walnuts; something I keep away from my home as there are severe allergies there.  Once I left for another trip I could then try them out.

Check out the website at http://thepurebar.com/


Nutritional Information

  • Calories: 180
  • Total Fat: 7g
    • Saturated Fat: 1g
    • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol:0mg
  • Sodium: 0mg
  • Potassium: 270mg
  • Total Carbohydrate: 28g
    • Fiber: 4g
    • Sugar: 19g
  • Protein: 5g

Ingredients: Dates, agave nectar, cashew butter, cocoa, almonds, walnuts, brown rice protein, pea protein


HOW DOES IT FARE?

Company: 5/5

A loving mother named Veronica began the Pure Organic journey as a way to provide healthy snacks to the vegetarian/vegan community.  As it’s expended the company gives back to it’s community, donating to various charities all around the world.  The website also encourages community, holding recipe contests and various other ways to network with other people who enjoy a healthy lifestyle.

Appearance: 5/5

20150225_152230

When I think of a chocolate brownie this is what I would expect to see.  You can actually see pieces of the almonds and walnuts in the bar, delightful!

Taste: 9/10

This bar offered the right amount of sweetness.  While I could yap about the high sugar content I really think they found a good balance of flavor here.  I can definitely taste the chocolate and that’s exactly what I would go for.

Ingredients & Nutrition: 8/10

Have you read the ingredients list?  Fantastic!  You really can’t get too much simpler.  I really like that this company has left their product simple.  All of the products are certified organic, non-gmo, dairy-free, soy-free, gluten-free, and kosher.

With that said I would continue eating this bar as a chocolate craving crusher.  The bar is very high in sugar (19g!).  This is a MUCH better choice than a KitKat or Snickers by a long shot since the sugars and fat sources are natural.  I’d also pick this up after a workout or even as a morning snack.

Variety: 5/5

This company has been well established and they have come out with a huge variety.  Not into bars?  They also offer snack sticks and fruit/veggie strips.  The website offers:

–>9 Flavors of Fruit and Nut Bars

–>3 Flavors of Ancient Grains Bars (with quinoa, amaranth, flax, and hemp)

–>2 Flavors of Fruit and Veggie Strips

–>2 Flavors of Fruit Sandwiches (multi-layered fruit puree bar)

20150225_152107

Availability: 5/5

Buy it online or go to the website to use their store locator.  You can even make an account and set up recurring shipments.  It seems that this bar has been pretty well established so you can find them in a lot of places.  I found mine at a service station on the New York state thruway (which saved me since they didn’t offer “Eggs Asap!” or Core Protein)

My score: 37/40

7 thoughts on “Pure Organic Bars

Leave a Reply

