Paleo People eat Paleo People

20150112_174055A few weeks ago I found a paleo friendly granola snack on the shelf of a Wegmans grocery store.  When I’m eating Paleo I get extremely bored with the meat, nut, veggie, and fruit monotony and I crave something crunchy and carb-y.  I was excited to find this; it’s near impossible to find granola that is allowed on the paleo diet.

When I took my first bite I immediately set it down.  It had the “health food” taste characteristics.  Within minutes I wanted more and this time the snack was hard to put down.  The tough part about eating this is the small serving size (1/4 cup).  There are 5 servings in one container and if you aren’t careful you’ll be eating the whole 750-800 calorie bag.  I recommend dividing the snack into 5 snack sized bags BEFORE you eat it.

Check out the website here: http://paleopeople.com/


Nutritional Information

20150112_174105

  • Calories: 150 Calories
  • Fat: 12g
    • Saturated Fat: 3.5g
    • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 0mg
  • Total Carbohydrate: 11g
    • Dietary Fiber: 2g
    • Sugars: 7g
  • Protein: 3g

Ingredients: Honey, almonds, walnuts, pecans, banana chips (bananas, coconut oil), raisins, sunflower seeds, coconut oil, pumpkin seeds, dries cranberries (cranberries, apple juice concentrate, sunflower oil), shredded coconut, flaxseed meal, natural flavors, spices, raw cacao powder.


HOW DOES IT FARE?

Company: 5/5

The company was created by a former Crossfit Affiliate, Laura.  Despite my aversion to Crossfit Laura has some great and creative ideas when it comes to nutrition.  Something I like the most is her commitment to recognizing public servants.  She offers wholesale pricing to military, law enforcement, and firefighters; it’s great to see companies still offering incentives for those who put their lives on the line for the rest of us.

Appearance: 5/5

My apologies, but I don’t have any pictures.  The cacao powder gives the granola a dark look but it looks mighty tasty.

Taste: 9/10

The snack initially gives you a “health food” taste but it is hard to put down.  I highly recommend purchasing snack size Ziploc baggies and dividing out each serving.

Ingredients & Nutrition: 8/10

Just as I mentioned with my review of Epic bars, the Paleo People products are SNACK foods.  The high fat and sugar content are not ideal for anything more than occasional munching.

Variety: 5/5

Paleo people offers four flavors: Apple Crisp, Banana Nut, Cappunino Crunch, and Cacao Nut.

Availability: 3/5

In our world you can always find the granola online.  The website offers a zipcode search to help you locate nearby health stores that offer Paleo People snacks.

My score: 35/40

Leave a Reply

