Better For You Chai Tea

Have you ever tried the chai at Dunkin Donuts?  DELICIOUS.  Part of how I gained so much weight at the end of last year involves an addiction to this sugary tea.  I would have one almost every day…YIKES!

One of these drinks includes:

  • Calories: 330
  • Fat: 8g
  • Carbohydrate: 53g
  • Sugar:45g
  • Protein: 11g

I’ve gone months without the chai teas after I gave them up in November.  I tried the bagged chai tea but it’s not the same.  Today I made a healthier and almost paleo option. 

20150126_181839

Although I don’t have exact quantities I can estimate for you:

  • Lipton Instant Tea Mix: 1.5 cup
  • Truvia: 0.5 cup
  • Ground Ginger: 2 tsp
  • Ground Cinnamon: 2 tsp
  • Cardamom: 1 tsp
  • Allspice: 1 tsp
  • Ground Cloves: 1 tsp
  • Nutmeg: 1 tsp

Throw this all into a food processor to make a fine powder and you’ve got your mix.

When I prepared my tea I heated up some unsweetened Almond milk (as pure as I can find in the store) and added in the mix to taste (~2-3tsp) as well as a drop or so of vanilla.  The next time I make this I might try to add vanilla bean instead but it wasn’t in the house.

My resulting tea:

  • Calories: 32
  • Fat: 3g
  • Carbohydrate: 3g
  • Sugar: 0g
  • Protein: 1g

Knowing how much better this tea nutritionally is makes me enjoy it even better.

Feel free to try this and add your own alterations (different sweetener, different milk, etc)

 

About sscribner07

I am outgoing, motivated, quirky and energetic. Fitness and nutrition is a passion yet I have a serious sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Better For You Chai Tea

  1. Pingback: Garnish Your Plate, Feel Fancy | Fighting the Fat Kid Within

Leave a Reply

