Be KIND, Be Happy!

20150113_142351

Since I travel often I often find myself dining at grocery stores.  I love to pickup different foods and try new things.  Because of this I have decided to begin reviewing them.  I have no sponsors so my reviews are completely unsolicited.  For my first review I’m going to begin with a better known name that you all may be familiar with…KIND bars!

Lately Kind bars has been my go-to for a sweet treat.  The company got it’s start in 2004 and it uses real ingredients.  My favorite (and many others apparently) is the caramel almond and sea salt.  Today I had a chocolate craving and had the peanut butter and dark chocolate.  With my diet it offers a healthy balance of good foods so the chocolate is okay here.

You can access the website at http://www.kindsnacks.com/

An example nutrition info for the caramel almond and sea salt:


  • Calories: 200
  • Fat Calories: 140
  • Total Fat: 16g
  • Saturated Fat: 3g
  • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 0g
  • Sodium: 125mg
  • Potassium: 210mg
  • Total Carbohydrate: 15g
  • Fiber: 7g
  • Sugars: 5g
  • Protein: 6g

    HOW DOES IT FARE?

Company: 5/5

The company is named KIND.  They advocate kindness toward each other, which is a plus.  They work with reputable companies and seem to have safe manufacturing procedures to reduce the risk of allergen cross contamination.

Appearance: 5/5

20150113_142411

These bars look amazing.

Taste: 9/10

These often taste just as great as they look.  They are crunchy, sweet, chewy (if it’s fruity), salty (when it says).  The chocolate actually tastes like chocolate.  I have my favorites and I haven’t tried them all but some of the flavors are a bit quirky.

Ingredients & Nutrition: 8/10

These bars are gluten free and non-GMO.  Most of the bars contain quality nuts; many companies throw in peanuts as a filler.  Peanuts are legumes, not nuts.  When you’re eating paleo you don’t eat peanuts and it’s often wise to limit your peanut intake anyway.

I love that you can read the ingredients listed.  In addition, the nutritional information is very useful.  They use quality nuts so the protein content is often moderate.  They typically keep the sugars low from 5-7g.  Although we don’t need sugar this is a healthier alternative to a candy bar.

Variety: 5/5

There are so many options available!  They have fruit and nut, sweet and salty, they have some aimed at anti-oxidants and others aimed at protein.  They just recently started offering the Strong line which seems to be savory flavors.  I haven’t tried them yet but it’s only a matter of time.

Availability: 5/5

I travel around the New England/New York area and it doesn’t matter where I go I can always find at least 3 varieties at gas stations, convenience stores, grocery stores, etc.  You can also buy them online very easily.

Bottom Line:  These bars are popular and you can find them just about anywhere.  They are healthy, tasty, and you can choose from a wide variety.

My score: 37/40

5 thoughts on “Be KIND, Be Happy!

  1. Pingback: NuGo Slim: High protein, Low sugar | Fighting the Fat Kid Within

Leave a Reply

