Paleo Gal on the Go

Eating junk food is just as easy as not eating junk food, right?

Eating healthy is just as easy eating unhealthy…

After all, you make the choice to eat a food…to say “yes” or to say “no

In reality what you put into your body is just a choice…but we all know the choice is challenging. Our society revolves around making the wrong choices.  McDonalds, Burger King, Taco Bell, Dunkin Donuts, and the list goes on.  When we have a birthday we eat cake and ice cream.  We routinely eat pizza, burgers, fries, and other greasy foods.  Buying the less healthy foods tends to be more cost efficient.  In fact, the more artificial a food is the cheaper it seems to be…hmmm.

20141013_221939

I travel a lot for my business meaning I am rarely home to cook my own meals. I have the option to cook everything at home and bring it in a cooler.  Is that always possible with my busy routine?  Absolutely not.  I have to find ways to make eating on the road a healthy experience.  Even the “healthy” dishes in restaurants may not always be the best choice.  It’s low calorie, yes.  But what else is it? I’ve made my task exponentially more difficult by limiting myself to paleo foods.  I challenge you to find some places where you can order something completely paleo.  Many dishes feature starches and grains.  Most of the time when I travel I frequent a grocery store.  By doing this I can purchase fruits, veggies, and roasted chicken.  I can also visit the salad bar to obtain some hard boiled eggs and fresh veggies.

Last week I was traveling with a colleague.  We visited restaurants for dinner.  A few of these dinners are featured below.

Sunday night: Filet Mignon and Shrimp teriyaki with asparagus and peppers. I found this dish at Masa Japanese Steakhouse in Manchester, NH.  It came with Jasmine Rice which I wrapped and took to go.

20141012_140607

Monday evening: I had some steamed clams at Legal Seafoods in Framingham, MA and a salad with peppercorn dressing.  The dressing wasn’t exactly paleo, but it tasted pretty darn good.  I ordered the dressing on the side and had more than half of it left over.

Tuesday night: We found a restaurant in Northborough, MA called the Texas BBQ Company.  Here I found a 6-hour smoked half rack of ribs with asparagus.  This was the best asparagus I have ever had.

20141014_170740

Wednesday night: We visited the All Star Sports Bar and Grill in Marlborough, MA.  I ordered a sirloin steak with steamed zucchini and peppers.

20141014_170753

As I mentioned in a previous article I don’t feel a need to go 100% super strict paleo.  The sauces and a little bit of dressing really won’t do too much harm.

Have you tried to eat paleo on the go?  If not paleo have you tried to eat on a restricted diet (gluten free/low carb/vegan/etc)?

About sscribner07

I am outgoing, motivated, quirky and energetic. Fitness and nutrition is a passion yet I have a serious sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paleo Gal on the Go

  1. B confidential says:

    Nice

    Like

Leave a Reply

