KF What?

In an earlier post I briefly mentioned a program that I am in love with called KFX. Today I am returning to this to tell you a little more about it.

Over many years I have experimented with several different approaches to working out. I have participated in tabata, zumba, taebo, pilates, yoga, P90X, Insanity, T25, Les Mills (Body pump and Body Combat) and a few other trends (but fortunately NEVER crossfit).   At home I have nearly 40 fitness DVDs.  While each has its benefits I continue to have qualms with many (aside from pilates and yoga, which I should do more often).  Several are not sustainable over an extended program; burnout is easy.  Some are unsafe; in BodyPump, for instance, I damaged my shoulder pretty badly and still have a far more limited range of movement (ROM).   Others are great and provide the luxury of exercising at home.  Doing exercise at home may be productive for some but there is a particular element you lack when you’re not in class.

Marc, the owner of the Krav Maga school that I belong to has created a style of training that involves the concept of super compensation.  This program is called KFX, short for Krav Fitness Extreme.  The intension of this program is to develop overall fitness for becoming a better martial artist.  The workouts combine strength and cardio movements mostly in high intensity intervals.  We utilize kettlebells, rope, jam balls, heavy bags, TRX, and body weight movements.  We even have atlas stones and tires.

I immediately fell in love with the program and became one of the first instructors to become certified. In addition to the diverse selection of exercises (and modifications if necessary) there is a great energy present for each class.  This energy carries the “team” through the toughest moments and unites everyone.  When concentration is needed there will be periods of silence.  Many times, however, you might hear students shouting and cheering encouragement to one another.

The beauty of KFX is that anybody can do it.  My classes frequently consist of teens as young as 16 to adults in their 60s.  There are many levels of fitness and some are even dealing with injury.  Everybody can benefit from it and increase their own intensity as they improve.

Our KFX program begins at week 1; the initial workouts begin slower to ramp up for the coming 12-week cycle. Workouts progressively build you up to an “end-goal” by the final week.  In classes the objective is often better overall fitness, but in personal training we can tailor the program to the client’s personal goals.  The last few workouts get tougher and more demanding.  Following the cycle we finish up with one week of rest.  This week is necessary to avoid the overtraining that I am going through.  During this week we still meet for class in order to teach some new moves.  Form is of the upmost importance so we make sure our students can either perform the move safely or we find a modification.

KFX has been incredible.  I have seen transformations in myself.  For example, I have never run more than 3.1 miles and the last time I had run was January.  In June, thanks to KFX, I managed to complete the Down and Dirty 10k without walking a step.  The success has been seen across the school in all of the students who routinely attend class 2-3 days per week.  I am so proud to see where everyone is at and it motivates me to want to learn more and more.  We have several students who completed the Spartan Beast this year after a 21 week prep.  The Spartan Beast, by the way, is a 13 mile obstacle mud run twice up a mountain.  It requires hard training and mental toughness…and we’ve got those people.

 

KFX

About sscribner07

I am outgoing, motivated, quirky and energetic. Fitness and nutrition is a passion yet I have a serious sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

