Forget the Sweet Tooth, I’ve Got Sweet Teeth

“Let’s celebrate with cake”

“Let’s get a beer”

“It’s [insert holiday], eat some cookies”

“It’s [insert day of week] let’s enjoy with ice cream”

“A little bit won’t hurt”

“Look what we’ve accomplished, we deserve this [insert junk food]”

I hate to say it but our society is built around food…and mostly junk food.  Delicious junk food.  I have a major sweet tooth and I am capable of coming up with all sorts of excuses to eat these sugary pieces of heaven.  I have even justified a banana split.  At the end of the day your banana split is still loaded with sugar, empty calories, and lies.  It tastes great and promises happiness but leaves you bloated and full of regret.

A Banana Split: Justified

A Banana Split: Justified

Fortunately I enjoy exercise and activities that get my blood pumping; but it doesn’t make my journey to the body of my dreams any easier.  In college I gained weight fast and at my heaviest I was 214 pounds.  I’ve come a long way but I have high standards (we’ll get to that later) and to achieve my goals I really need to eat smart.  I’ve been on this road for a long time and was into health and fitness before I entered high school.  What I’ve learned in invaluable and yet I continue to learn, develop, and aspire toward better.  There are a lot of factors that play a role in your own success but ultimately it starts in your heart.  You can tell yourself whatever you want, talk about it, write about it, promise yourself things; if it isn’t in your heart you will fall flat on your caboose.  I have been up and down, tried fad diet schemes, different exercise programs and it’s all the same.  Your own desire determines how successful you are going to be.

“The size of your success is measured by the strength of your desire; the size of your dream; and how you handle disappointment along the way.”

-Robert Kiyosaki

About sscribner07

I am outgoing, motivated, quirky and energetic. Fitness and nutrition is a passion yet I have a serious sweet tooth.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forget the Sweet Tooth, I’ve Got Sweet Teeth

  1. Pingback: I’ve Been Nominated! | Fighting the Fat Kid Within

Leave a Reply

